Maui District


Kahului Hongwanji Mission
291 South Puunene Avenue
Kahului, HI 96732
Ph: 871-4732 | Fax: 871-4732

Lahaina Hongwanji Mission
551 Wainee Street
P.O. Box 458
Lahaina, HI 96767
Ph: 661-0640 | Fax: 661-0640

Lanai Hongwanji Mission
1364 Fraser Avenue
P.O. Box 630-0087
Lanai, HI 96763-0087
Ph: 871-4778

Makawao Hongwanji Mission
1074 Makawao Avenue
P.O. Box 188
Makawao, HI 96768
Ph: 572-7229 | Fax: 573-1373

Wailuku Hongwanji Mission
1828 Vineyard Street
Wailuku, HI 96793
Ph: 244-0406 | Fax: 242-7072

2020 Calendar

January 20 Martin Luther King, Jr. Walk/March. January is always the Martin Luther King march.  The adults and children marched around the block with signs of love, peace cranes and bagpipes playing.  Ending with Martin Luther King’s “I Have A Dream” speech.  We truly enjoyed the company and sharing the message of Peace.  click to see photo
March 22 MUBWA Spring Representatives Meeting (cancelled)
  Maui Food Bank Canned Good Drive
April 18 Spring General Assembly (cancelled)
September 21 Peace Day displays
October 24 MUBWA Fall Representatives Meeting (online)

2019 and 2020 Officers, Advisor & Director

Show/hide Listing

Officers & Directors

Show/hide Listing

Officers (2020)

President Sharon Nohara (Lahaina)
Past President Janet Kubota (Wailuku)
1st Vice President Diane Kosaka (Makawao)
2nd Vice President Janet Shimada (Kahului)
3rd Vice President Catherine Nohara (Lanai)
Secretary Phyllis Nakamura (Lahaina)
Treasurer Aileen Cockett (Lahaina)
Asst. Treasurer Sharon Higa (Wailuku)
Auditor Bobbi Nakagawa (Makawao)
Auditor: Susan Emura (Kahului )
Director Diane Nako (Makawao)
Director Colleen Suyama (Kahului)
Director Tamara Manley (Wailuku)
Director Sally Takahama (Lanai)

Advisors (2020)

Shuji (Head Advisor) Rev./Mrs. Ai Hironaka (Lahaina)
Advisor Rev./Mrs. Shinkai Murakami (Wailuku)
Advisor Rev./Mrs. Richard Tennes (Kahului)
Advisor Rev./Mrs. Kerry Kiyohara (Makawao)

Unit Presidents

Kahului Charlotte Wilkinson
Lahaina Sharon Nohara
Lanai Catherine (Kitty) Nohara
Makawao Diane Kosaka
Wailuku Janet Kubota

Standing Committee Chairs

Membership/ Education Phyllis Nakamura (Lahaina) and Sharon Nohara (Lahaina)
Dana/Aloha Kallie Keith Agaran (Kahului)
Bon Dance Sharon Higa (Wailuku)
Newsletter Alison Nakagawa (Makawao)
Student Exchange Diane Kosaka (Makawao)

2022 State Membership Conference

Chair Janet Shimada (Kahului)


State BWA Minister Advr Rev. Shinkai Murakami (Wailuku)
Federation 2nd VP Sharon Nohara (Lahaina)
MUBWA President Sharon Nohara (Lahaina)
MUBWA Director Diane Kosaka (Makawao)
MUBWA Minister Advisor Rev. Ai Hironaka (Lahaina)

Bylaws & Policies

Bylaws are available in two formats:
web page | PDF document

Policies are available in two formats:
web page | PDF document